American instant messaging giant WhatsApp has finally unveiled the long demanded feature of disappearing photos and videos to the stable version of the app. The feature is being called as the ‘View Once’ feature and is pretty similar to the rival Snapchat’s feature.
This feature is also present in Instagram as the expiring media feature.
Now WhatsApp users will be able to send a photo or a video using this feature, then that media will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. But, the catch is that users will have to select View Once media each time they want to send a view once photo or video.
WhatsApp said in a statement that this feature is aimed at “giving users even more control over their privacy.”
WhatsApp added that, “Not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record.” Adding that, “On many phones, simply taking a photo means it will take up space in your camera roll forever.”
Users will know a message is “view once” because the preview will be hidden and a large “1” icon displayed instead.
The Facebook-owned company has confirmed that any photo or video you send using the ‘View Once’ feature won’t be saved to the recipient’s Photos or Gallery. Once you send a View Once photo or video, WhatsApp won’t be able to show it again.
Along with this, users won’t be able to forward, save, star, or share photos or videos that were sent or received with View Once media feature. The other feature of WhatsApp like Bluetick for read recipients would work the same on these type of messages too.
The Facebook-owned company also says that the recipient will have 14 days to open the media, failing to do soo will delete it forever. However, one will be able to restore the ‘View once media’ from backup if the message remains unread at the time of backup. If the photo or video has already been opened, the media will not be included in the backup and can’t be restored.